Skip To Main Content

ELAC English Learners Advisory Committee

Las Plumas Logo transparent background

What is ELAC?

An ELAC committee is comprised of school staff, parents of English learner students, other parents and community members who are interested in English learner programs. At least 25 percent of the committee must be made up of parents of English learner students who are not employed by the school. ELAC members are elected by members at school sites.

 

Advisory Duties

The purpose of the ELAC is to advise, not govern, English learner services and programs offered by the district. As an advisory group, ELAC member duties may include:

  • Developing an ELD Master Plan for educational programs and services for English Learners.
  • Conducting a needs assessment for the school.
  • Establishing program goals and objectives for English Learner Services.
  • Administrating the annual language census.
  • Reviewing and commenting on the reclassification procedures for English Learners.
  • Reviewing and commenting on the written notifications to be sent to parents and guardians.
  • Performing self-evaluation to determine if the ELAC is meeting its goals and appropriately representing the school's English Learners.
  • The overall goal of the ELAC is to improve our English learners' acquisition of fluency in English and to help our students achieve academic success.

All ELAC meetings, including subcommittees, are required by law to be open to the public. Meeting agendas must be posted in a public place a minimum of 72 hours in advance.

If you have any questions or concerns, please contact Froylan Mendoza, LPHS Assistant Principal, at 530-538-2310 or via email at fmendoza@ouhsd.net

June 2024
Sunday Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday Saturday
Sun, May 26
Mon, May 27
Tue, May 28
Wed, May 29
Thu, May 30
Fri, May 31
Sat, Jun 1
Sun, Jun 2
Mon, Jun 3
Tue, Jun 4
Wed, Jun 5
Thu, Jun 6
Fri, Jun 7
Sat, Jun 8
Sun, Jun 9
Mon, Jun 10
Tue, Jun 11
Wed, Jun 12
Thu, Jun 13
Fri, Jun 14
Sat, Jun 15
Sun, Jun 16
Mon, Jun 17
Tue, Jun 18
Wed, Jun 19
Thu, Jun 20
Fri, Jun 21
Sat, Jun 22
Sun, Jun 23
Mon, Jun 24
Tue, Jun 25
Wed, Jun 26
Thu, Jun 27
Fri, Jun 28
Sat, Jun 29
Sun, Jun 30
Mon, Jul 1
Tue, Jul 2
Wed, Jul 3
Thu, Jul 4
Fri, Jul 5
Sat, Jul 6

Calendar & Category Legend:

  • Holidays & Closings
  • Las Plumas High School
  • LPO Band Calendar
  • Oroville High School
  • Oroville Union High School District
  • Prospect & Community Day High School